This is the "Archives Resources" page of the "Archives Home Page" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives Home Page  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2017 URL: http://westtown.libguides.com/archives Print Guide Email Alerts

Archives Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collections Overview

The archives collects and maintains records and related material with enduring historical and administrative value for use by the school community and general public. Please note select portions of the collection may be closed or restricted.

 

  • Administrative records including minutes of the Board of Trustees (1794 to present) and other committees, correspondence,  and financial records

  • School publications

  • Faculty papers

  • Student records (of deceased alumni)

  • Alumni Association records

  • Manuscript collection including letters, diaries, journals of teachers and students

  • Student coursework including 19th-century student exercise books

  • Rare books from library collection and classroom books

  • Records of student organizations and athletics

  • Oral history recordings and transcripts

  • Photographs and prints

  • Maps, plans, and architectural drawings

  • Paintings and drawings

  • Textiles including needlework samplers, other handiwork, and clothing

  • Artifacts

 

Published Sources

Westtown’s history is documented in multiple books, all available in the archives or school library. (As noted, several are also available for purchase through the school store.)

 

Auld Lang Syne (B. J. Leedom), Westtown under the Old and New Regime (Bonitas-Bauer, Wurzburg, 1883)

Watson W. Dewees, A Brief History of Westtown Boarding School with a General Catalogue (1888)

Frances C. Tatum, ed., Old Westtown (Ferris Brothers, Philadelphia, 1888)

Watson W. and Sarah B. Dewees, Centennial History of Westtown Boarding School, 1799-1899 (Westtown Alumni Association, 1899) (Available on Google Books)

Helen G. Hole, Westtown through the Years 1799-1942 (Westtown Alumni Association, 1942)*

Susanna Smedley and Anna H. Brown, comp., Catalogue of Westtown through the Years (Westtown Alumni Association, 1945)

Rachel K. Letchworth, Westtown in Trust (Westtown School, 1975)*

Pat Bringhurst Reed, ed., Westtown in Word and Deed, 1799-1999: An Anthology (Westtown School, 1998)*

Mary Uhl Brooks, Threads of Useful Learning, Westtown School Samplers (Westtown School, 2015)*

*Available for purchase through the school store http://www.westtown.edu/page.cfm?p=736 or contact school_store@westtown.edu or 610-399-7883

                          

 

 

Subjects

Material in the archives supports the study of many topics in a variety of disciplines, but the collection is strongest with regard to the following:

  • History of Westtown School

  • Quaker education

  • Women’s studies

  • Study of science

  • Genealogical and biographical information

  • 19th-century schoolgirl needlework

  • Athletics

 

School Publications

The following are available in the archives:

  • The Westonian, 1895 to present (alumni magazine)

  • The Brown and White, 1914 to present (student newspaper)

    • 1914 – 1999 issues available online to school community

  • Central Currents, 1965 – 1985 (newsletter)

  • eCollections (previously Collections), 1987 to present (newsletter)

  • Yearbooks (named Amicus in 1938) and class books, 1902 to present

             

 

From the Archives

Navigation exercise book of Westtown student Jeremiah Reynolds, 1805

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip