This is the "Using the Collection" page of the "Archives Home Page" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives Home Page  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2017 URL: http://westtown.libguides.com/archives Print Guide Email Alerts

Using the Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Visiting the Archives

The archives is generally open Monday through Thursday 8:30 am – 4:30 pm and Friday 12:00  -- 4:00 pm on days when school is in session.  The archives remains open during the summer on a reduced schedule. Throughout the year, visitors are encouraged to make an appointment to be sure that someone will be available to assist them.

Visitors who wish to use the collection will be asked to fill out and sign a registration form, agreeing to the following: 1) Personal belongings – coats, bags, folders, etc. – are not allowed in the reading room 2) Only pencil and paper or portable devices may be using for taking notes 3) No food, drink, or chewing gum is allowed in the archives 4) Only one item or folder of material may be used at a time, and all material must be handled with care 5) The user assumes responsibility for conforming to copyright, right-to-privacy, and all other applicable statutes.

The archives staff will retrieve all material for use.  Material in the collection must be used in the archives; nothing from the collection circulates.

                                                             

 

 

Photocopies, Photographs, and Reproductions

Researchers may request photocopies of material in the collection. Staff members will do all photocopying, reserving the right to not photocopy material that may be fragile or at risk.  In some instances, a digital image can be supplied in place of a photocopy.   Visitors may request permission from the archivist to use their own digital (or other) camera to capture images of material in the collection.

A fee schedule for photocopies and digital reproductions supplied by the archives is available from the staff.

 

 

Permission to Publish

Providing copies or images of material in the archives does not constitute permission to reproduce or publish the material in any way; copies are provided for personal or scholarly use only. Anyone wishing to quote, reproduce, or publish material from the archives must secure permission from the school archivist and any copyright holder(s).  It is the researcher’s responsibility to be aware of the laws regarding literary property rights, libel, privacy, and copyright.

Citations to unpublished material found in the archives should be made in full (using repository name Esther Duke Archives, Westtown School, West Chester, PA). Researchers are asked to donate to the archives one copy of any published work based on material found in the archives, or to notify the archives of the publication, providing a complete bibliographic citation.

A fee schedule for publication of images in the collection– or images of objects such as paintings or textiles in the collection – is available by contacting the archives.

 

 

Research Requests

Those unable to visit the archives in person are welcome to submit a request for information by email or phone, but limited time prevents staff from conducting extensive research in response to such requests.  Those requesting information will be notified of any fees for photocopies or digital images before proceeding, if applicable.

 

 

Contact Information

Archives

archives@westtown.edu

610-399-7834

 

Mary U. Brooks, Archivist

mary.brooks@westtown.edu

Kevin A. Gallagher, Archives Assistant

kevin.gallagher@westtown.edu

 

Westtown School Archives

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip