This is the "Home" page of the "Latin American/Spanish Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American/Spanish Resources  

Last Updated: Sep 21, 2017 URL: http://westtown.libguides.com/LAhistory Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Biddle Library Catalog

Click on the icon to the left to search the Biddle Library Catalog for the Middle and Upper Schools.

Bibliography

 

Scholarly Journals

 

Databases to Search

 

E-Reference Sources

Image result for gale virtual reference icon
Image result for abc-clio ebooks
ebrary

 

Additional Databases

http://www.ci.santa-ana.ca.us/library/research/images/Amer_mosaic_000.jpg

 

Useful Books and Reference Sources

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
ISBN: 9780684312705
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. An entirely new illustration program features over 100 full-color photographs in addition to hundreds in black-and-white. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin America's 37 countries. New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Chavez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts. Newly commissioned master essays synthesize current knowledge on such major regional themes as Democracy in the Americas, Hemispheric Affairs, and the Hispanic Impact on the U.S. Includes full index and table of biographical subjects by profession. Edited by Jay Kinsbruner and an international team of consultants on three continents.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Latin America - Thomas M. Leonard; J. Michael Francis; Monica Rankin; Mark A. Burkholder
ISBN: 9780816073597
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
Authoritative yet accessible, the four-volume Encyclopedia of Latin America covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from early settlements to the present day. Each volume focuses on a specific time period in the area's development. The first volume explores prehistory through the achievements of the Incas in the 16th century, and the second volume covers the arrival of the Spanish, colonization, and independence movements until the 1820s. Volume III examines Latin America's search for its own identity from the middle of the 19th century to the start of the 20th, and the fourth volume focuses on Latin America as it asserts itself in international politics, experiences the effects of globalization, and becomes an influential area worldwide, from the 20th century through the present day. Volumes offer in-depth, heavily cross-referenced A-to-Z entries, drawing readers into the histories of ancient civilizations, colonization, celebrated independence leaders, national and regional political debates, and the daily lives and achievements of the many peoples who have occupied the area. Each volume begins with an introduction to the time period, followed by a detailed chronology. A collection of primary source documents at the end of each volume gives a firsthand account of the major developments of the era. A glossary, bibliography, and index in each volume, a cumulative index in Volume IV, and 250 black-and-white images and maps round out this attractive and reliable resource on Latin America. Entries include: Volume I: Amerindians through Foreign Colonization (Prehistory to 1560) Amazon women Clovis culture Christopher Columbus Copán Dyes and dyewoods Huayna Cápac Maize Maya Pirates and piracy Pulque Treaty of Tordesillas Zapotecs. Volume II: From Colonies to Independent Nations (1550s to 1820s) Acapulco Simón Bolívar Cattle Creole Fleets/fleet system Independence of Spanish South America War of Jenkins' Ear Juntas Pueblo Revolt José de San Martín Veracruz. Volume III: Search for National Identity (1820s to 1900) Accessory Transit Company Acre Province Brazilian Anti-Slavery Society Caudillo Centralism Cinco de Mayo Haiti Constitution of 1805 Porfirio Díaz Junta de Información Modernism Old Republic Texas Revolution. Volume IV: The Age of Globalization (1900 to the Present) Acción Comunal Vere Cornwall Bird Cuban missile crisis Vicente Fox Mafia in Cuba National Liberation Movement Operation Uphold Democracy Pan-American Highway Radio and TV Martí Student movement in Mexico. Cross-volume entries include: Agriculture Argentina Art Belize Bogotá Brazil Catholic Church Economy Family Literature Migration Military Music Puerto Rico Trade.

Cover Art
Until the Rulers Obey - Clifton Ross (Editor); Marcy Rein (Editor); Raúl Zibechi (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781604867947
Publication Date: 2014-02-15
Until the Rulers Obey brings together voices from the movements behind the wave of change in Latin America. These movements have galvanised long-silenced sectors of society: indigenous peoples, campesinos, students, the LGBT community and all those left out of the promised utopia of a globalised economy. This unique collection of interviews and primary source material features five dozen leaders and grassroots activists from 15 counties presenting their work and debating pressing questions of power, organisational forms and relations with the state.

Cover Art
Modern Latin American Literature - Roberto González Echevarria
ISBN: 9780199754915
Publication Date: 2012-01-24
In the 1960s, Latin American literature became known worldwide as never before. Writers such as Jorge Luis Borges, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Carlos Fuentes, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz, and Mario Vargas Llosa all became part of the general culture of educated readers of English, French, German,and Italian. But few know about the literary tradition from which these writers emerged. This Very Short Introduction remedies this situation, providing an overview of modern Latin American literature from the late eighteenth century to the present. Roberto Gonzalez Echevarria covers a wide range of topics, discussing the birth of Modernismo, the first Latin American literary movement; how the end of World War I and the Mexican Revolution produced the avant-garde; and how the Cuban Revolution sparked a movement in the novel that came to beknown as the Boom. Within this narrative, the author covers many of the major writers of Latin American literature, from Andres Bello and Jose Maria de Heredia through Borges and Garcia Marquez to Fernando Vallejo and Roberto Bolano.

Cover Art
Women's Roles in Latin America and the Caribbean - Kathryn A. Sloan
ISBN: 9780313381096
Publication Date: 2011-07-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip